Thursday, 15 September 2016

Russian Space Agency

The Roscosmos State Corporation for Space Activities (Russian: Государственная корпорация по космической деятельности "Роскосмос"), commonly known as Roscosmos (Russian: Роскосмос), is the governmental body responsible for the space science program of Russia and general aerospace research.

The Corporation was established on the basis of the now-defunct Federal Space Agency on December 28, 2015. Roscosmos was previously known as the Russian Aviation and Space Agency.
 In 2015 the Russian government merged Roscosmos with the United Rocket and Space Corporation, the re-nationalized Russian space industry, to create the Roscosmos State Corporation

The headquarters of Roscosmos are located in Moscow, while the main Mission Control space center is located in the nearby city of Korolev. The Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center is in Star City. The Launch facilities used are Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan (with most launches taking place there, both manned and unmanned), and Vostochny Cosmodrome being built in the Russian Far East in Amur Oblast.

No comments:

Post a Comment