Thursday, 15 September 2016

Railway Recruitment Board

Railway Recruitment Control Board is a government organisation in India. It was set up in 1998 in the Ministry of Railways (Railway Board), New Delhi. There are 21 boards situated in different parts of India: Ahemadabad, Ajmer, Allahabad, Banglore,Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Bilaspur, Chandigarh,Chennai,Gorakhpur,Guwahati, Jammu and Kashmir, Kolkata, Malda, Mumbai, Muzaffarpur, Patna, Ranchi, Secunderabad, Siliguri,Thiruvanthapuram


  • Formulation of policy in regard to recruitment procedures.
  • To monitor the activities of all Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) including expenditure incurred for recruitment.
  • To evaluate the performance of RRB's and advise them on priorities as required.
  • To organise a management information system for monitoring work done by RRB's.


In 1942, a Service Commission with a Chairman and two members was established for recruitment of Subordinate Staff on the then North West Railway was known as Railway Service Commission.  In January, 1985 Railway Service Commissions have been renamed as Railway Recruitment Board (RRB).

1 comment:

  1. Thanks to give us information to make career in railways central board and get information of IRCTC Sing up to book ticket see other details.