Wednesday, 21 September 2016

Maithili - the language

Maithili is an Indo-Aryan language of the Indo-European language family spoken in the eastern India and in the eastern terai of Nepal. It was generally written in Mithilakshar (also known as Tirhuta) in the past but now it is generally written in Devanagari. The language codes for Maithili is 'mai' for ISO 639-2 and ISO 639-3. It is the only language of Bihar having it's own script.

In 2002, Maithili was included in the Eight Schedule of the Indian Constitution, which allows it to be used in education, government and other official context. In 2007, Maithili was included in the interim Constitution of Nepal 2063, Part 1, Section 5 as a Nepalese language.

Maithili varies greatly in dialects. Several geographic variations of Maithili dialect are spoken in India and Nepal, including Dehati and Kisan. Some of the dialects such as Bantar, Barmeli, Musar and Tati are spoken only in Nepal, while Kortha, Jolaha and Thetiya dialects are spoken in India.

Maithili dates back to the 14th century. t
The 'Varna Ratnakara' is the earliest known prose text preserved from 1507 and is written in Mithilakshar. The name Maithili is derived from the word Mithila, an ancient kingdom of whim King Janaka was the ruler.

No comments:

Post a Comment